Friday, June 22nd 2018

Two new KC board members sworn into office

Two Kilgore College Board of Trustees members were sworn into office at a regular meeting of the board of trustees June 27 in the McLaurin Administration Building.

Janice Bagley, of Overton, will fill the unexpired term of Bob Heath for the South Zone, Voting Unit No. 1, Place No. 7 (term scheduled to expire May of 2019).

Jon Rowe, of Gladewater, will fill the unexpired term of James Walker for the North Zone, Voting Unit No. 2, Place No. 2 (term scheduled to expire May of 2021).

The KC Board of Trustees appointed Rowe and Bagley after an application process to fill the two vacant seats.

They were appointed with a 6-0 vote by the board of trustees June 18.

Janice Bagley:

Bagley has served since 2006 as a police officer for the Overton Police Department where she also serves as the department’s public relations officer, grant writer, firearms instructor, field training officer and code compliance officer.

She is a graduate of Leverett’s Chapel High School and graduated with an Associate of Applied Science in Criminal Justice from KC in 1996.  In 2011, she earned a bachelor’s degree in psychology and earned a master’s degree in psychology in 2013 from University of Phoenix.

From 1995-1998, she served as a correctional officer at B.M. Moore Correctional Facility in Overton.

From 1998-1999, she served as a lieutenant and grievance investigator for Correction Corporation of America.  She served as a correctional officer from 1999-2002 with Gregg County and from 2002-2003 at Bradshaw State Jail in Henderson.  She worked from 2003-2006 as a patrol officer for the Arp Marshal’s Office/Warrant Division.

Bagley is an active member of Zion Baptist Church in Overton, a volunteer for the Overton Band Boosters and served since 2002 on the East Texas Police Academy Advisory Committee until her appointment to the KC Board of Trustees.

Since 2012, she has served as president of the Leverett’s Chapel Youth Basketball Association and as the coordinator of the Overton Campus Crime Stoppers program.  Since 2014, she has served as a board member of the Overton High School Site-Based Committee.

Jon Rowe:

Rowe has been employed with Eastman Chemical Company in Longview since 1990, and has served as Operations Team Manager since 2003. He also served on the Gladewater Independent School District Board of Trustees from 2006 until his appointment to the KC Board of Trustees.

He is a graduate of Gladewater High School and earned an Associate of Science from KC in 1987 where he was a Presidential Scholar and a member of Phi Theta Kappa.  He earned a bachelor’s degree in Wildlife and Fisheries Science from Texas A&M University.

Rowe is an active member of First Baptist Church in Gladewater, an active volunteer at Gladewater ISD, a member of Eastman’s High School Partnership Scholarship Team for Gladewater and is a member of the Texas Association of School Boards.

Application/appointment process:

Per board bylaws, KC Board President Larry Woodfin appointed an ad-hoc nominating committee that advertised the two vacant positions open through April 30 to qualified applicants from both voting units.

The nominating committee advertised the open positions for qualified applicants with a deadline of April 30 and reviewed and interviewed all applicants.  The committee then made recommendations for the two appointments for consideration by the full board.

According to board bylaws, any vacancy occurring on the KC Board of Trustees through death, resignation or otherwise, shall be filled by appointment or by a special election ordered by the board.  Appointees will serve until the next regular election.

Each member of the board must be a resident, qualified voter of the district and must take the proper oath of office before taking up duties of the board.