Friday, March 23rd 2018

Shaw named Dean of Public Services and Industrial Technologies

D’Wayne Shaw has been named Kilgore College’s new Dean of Public Services and Industrial Technologies, pending board approval.

He takes over for Randy Lewellen who retired earlier this year after almost 28-years of service KC.

Shaw has most recently served as KC’s Technical Dual Credit Coordinator since August of 2017 and has also served as the Technical Department Chair at KC since 2011.

“As a Kilgore College alumnus, I’m am very excited for the opportunity to be a part of the Public Services and Industrial Technologies area at this level,” Shaw said. “We have some great programs and fantastic people working in this division and I can’t wait to see what we can accomplish together.”

Under Shaw’s leadership he helped develop an off-site automotive technology dual credit program at Hallsville High School and spearheaded the creation of the Instrumentation and Electrical Technology program that began in 2016 at KC.

“I’m looking forward to work with our local independent school districts on dual credit opportunities for high school students in both the public service and technical areas,” Shaw said.  

From 2008-11 he was the lead instructor for KC’s Automotive Technology program and worked as the coordinator of the Collision Repair programs where he helped to rework the program and increased the retention and graduation rate by more than 100 percent.

He was first hired at KC in 1999 where he served as an automotive instructor at KC.

Shaw graduated with an Associate of Applied Science in Automotive Technology from KC; earned a Bachelor’s of Applied Arts and Science degree in 2009 from The University of Texas at Tyler; and earned a Master of Science in Human Resource Development in 2012 from UT Tyler.

He is also Evaluation Team Leader for the National Automotive Training Education Foundation (NATEF) and was an instructional specialist from 2008-12 in the automotive area for the Workforce Education Course Manual (WECM).

Shaw was nominated and elected to the WECM Statewide Leadership Committee in the fall of 2013 and served four years.

After a reorganization of WECM leadership by the THECB in 2016, he was selected to serve on the newly formed WECM Advisory Committee for a two-year term.