Thursday, January 30th 2020

Phi Theta Kappa chapter earns five star status

Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society (PTK) announced this week that the Kilgore College chapter, Gamma Omicron, has achieved Five Star Chapter status.

The KC chapter will be recognized for the honor at the annual spring regional convention and at PTK’s annual international convention, “PTK Catalyst,” set for April 2-4 in Dallas at the Gaylord Texan Resort & Convention Center.

The PTK Five Star Chapter Plan offers five levels of engagement with each level consisting of prescribed activities to build a strong, active chapter taking advantage of all PTK has to offer.

Also, all three of the Gamma Omicron Fall Common Scholarship nominees were elected to the All-Texas Academic Team with only 100 students selected out of 50 colleges in Texas.

All-Texas Academic Team members from KC include Kyle Kaufman, sophomore nursing major from Longview; Angie Chirino, sophomore nursing major from Kilgore; and Krista Armstrong, sophomore culinary arts major from Longview.

These three students will be honored at an awards ceremony April 1 at the University of Texas at Dallas.

Paul Buchanan is the faculty PTK sponsor at KC.

About PTK:

Phi Theta Kappa is the premier honor society recognizing the academic achievement of students at associate degree-granting colleges, helping them grow as scholars and leaders. The society is made up of more than 3.5 million members and nearly 1,300 chapters in 11 nations. To be eligible for PTK, students must have completed at least 12 hours of coursework in the previous long semester that may be applied to an associate degree—or they must have completed at least 20 hours as a part-time student that may be applied to an associate degree, all with a 3.6 Grade Point Average.  Learn more at