Wednesday, November 20th 2019

KC Mathematics Department earns prestigious Math Pathways Award

The Kilgore College Mathematics Department has received the prestigious Math Pathways Award from the Charles A. Dana Center at The University of Texas at Austin.

The award was presented at the Texas Success Center’s Texas Pathways Institute held recently in San Antonio.

This is the first year that the award was based solely on student success data.

“At the awards ceremony, the presenter noted that KC had done great work in determining the appropriate math course for each student’s major,” said Dr. Brenda Kays, KC president.  “That effort has led to KC having an almost perfect alignment of students enrolled in the right math course for their program of study.”

Kays said the other significant student success indicator was the number of students completing a college-level math course in their first year at the college.

“Mathematics completion rates went from in the teens to more than 30 percent for almost all student populations,” Kays said.  “While all student populations have experienced increased completion rates, the math department’s work has closed the achievement gap for students of color by an even greater percentage increase of course completion.”

Department chair of the math department at KC is Brandon Walker.

PHOTO ABOVE: KC staff members accept the Mathematics Pathways Award in San Antonio. Left to right: Dr. Ginger Dennis, Department Chair and Instructor of Business-CIT and Legal Assisting; Becky Johnson, Dean of Arts and Mathematical Sciences; Dr. Mike Turpin, Vice President of Instruction; Dr. Brenda Kays, KC President; Dr. Staci Martin, Vice President of Institutional Planning; Dr. Mike Jenkins, Executive Vice President & Chief Student Affairs Officer; and Jason Graves, Department Chair and Instructor, Language Development.  NOT PICTURED: Brandon Walker, Department Chair and Instructor of Mathematics.