Friday, June 7th 2019

Cosmetology student earns $1,000 scholarship from NTHS

Kilgore College cosmetology student Denis Garcia was recently awarded a $1,000 scholarship from the National Technical Honor Society.

Garcia, from Tatum, was one of 250 outstanding NTHS members to receive the Jon H. Poteat Scholarship.

She is the third KC student in the last six years to receive this scholarship.

Lillian Jackson, cosmetology instructor at KC, nominated her.

For more information on the cosmetology program at KC, visit

About the NTHS:

NTHS is the leader in recognizing student achievement in career and technical education (CTE) with more than 4,500 schools and colleges affiliated with the society.

Since its founding in 1984, NTHS has awarded more than $2 million in scholarships to remarkable CTE students nationwide.

NTHS works in partnership with national student leadership organizations to promote educational excellence and award scholarships to career and technical education students.

These include Business Professionals of America (BPA), Distributive Education Clubs of America (DECA/DEX), Family Career and Community Leaders of America (FCCLA), Future Business Leaders of America (FBLA/PBL), Health Occupational Students of America (HOSA) and SkillsUSA.

Visit for more information.