About the program:
The Associate of Applied Science (AAS) in Substance Abuse Counseling at Kilgore College can be completed in two years and provides the educational foundation required by the Texas Department of State Health Services to pursue a credential as a Licensed Chemical Dependency Counselor (LCDC). The program includes both face-to-face and online classes as well as a structured supervised practicum in an approved off-campus training site during the last semester of course work. Students who successfully complete the program will be prepared to begin the 4,000 hours of required supervised work to become an LCDC.
Unfortunately, this this year's addiction conference set for April has been canceled due to precautionary reasons related to the COVID-19 pandemic.
Current state requirements for LCDC licensure:
- Complete an associate’s degree which includes 300 hours of practicum experience.
- Pass a comprehensive written examination administered by the Texas Certification Board of Addiction Professionals.
- Complete 4,000 hours of supervised work experience after receiving the associate’s degree.
- Psychiatric and Substance Abuse Hospitals n Residential Care Facilities
- Residential Care Facilities
- Outpatient Mental Health Centers
- Health Clinics
- Correctional Facilities
Kilgore College students pursuing an Associate of Applied Science in Substance Abuse Counseling are eligible to apply for financial aid. Some types of aid, such as the Perkins Grant, may provide assistance with childcare, textbooks, and fuel costs. To be eligible for this type of grant a student must demonstrate that they: meet the grant’s definition of special population, have financial need, and are enrolled full time in a career/technical major. Additionally, the student must maintain a minimum 2.0 GPA. Advisors are available on campus to assist with the financial aid application process.
NOTE: For students in this course who may have a criminal background, please be advised that the background could keep you from being licensed by the State of Texas. If you have a question about your background and licensure, please speak with your faculty member or the department chair. You also have the right to request a criminal history evaluation letter from the applicable licensing agency.